LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaries // Science & knowledge

ROLLER COASTERS: WHITE-KNUCKLE TECHNOLOGY


52'
2018


VERSION(S)
French, english, M&E

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCER(S)
Magellair Productions

DIRECTOR
Emanuele Marzari

WRITTEN BY
Mathias Goudeau & Emanuele Marzari

The incredible giant iron skeletons that populate amusement parks defy the laws of physics for millions of passengers each year across the globe.
Starting with the first attractions in Russia 4 centuries ago, this documentary traces the historical and technological evolution of these “terror tracks”, which are constantly evolving in order to generate new and extreme levels of excitement.

Although very expensive, innovative attractions are obvious sources of revenue for amusement parks, and engineers are ramping up the physiological effects with the sole intention of testing the boundaries of human resistance.
These “hell trains” have to meet draconian safety standards every inch of the way. The attractions are designed using powerful computer software, the steel structures requiring meticulous craftsmanship to keep them standing for more than 30 years without maintenance or repair.
Having scared us to death, played with our inner ear and sent our adrenaline levels soaring, today’s roller coaster designers are aiming to mess with our minds even further by incorporating images and virtual reality.

With the help of interviews with engineers, historians and technicians, the film reveals the techniques being used to take us ever higher and their effects on our bodies. But are we physically capable of keeping up with the limitless advances of technology?


Previous   ||   Next

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54

LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaires // Sciences et connaissance

ROLLER COASTER : UNE TECHNOLOGIE A SENSATIONS


52'
2018


VERSION(S)
Française, anglaise, M&E

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCTEUR(S)
Magellair Productions

REALISATEUR
Emanuele Marzari

AUTEURS
Mathias Goudeau & Emanuele Marzari

Les incroyables squelettes de fer géants qui peuplent les parcs d’attractions défient les lois de la physique pour des millions de passagers chaque année à travers la planète.
Depuis les premières attractions en Russie il y a 4 siècles, ce documentaire retrace l’évolution historique et technologique de ces circuits de la peur qui n’ont cessé d’évoluer vers des sensations toujours plus extrêmes.

Les attractions novatrices, bien que très coûteuses, sont d’évidentes sources de revenus pour les parcs d’attractions et les ingénieurs repoussent les effets physiologiques avec pour seul but de frôler les limites de la résistance humaine.
Ces trains de l’enfer doivent respecter des normes de sécurité drastiques, à chaque centimètre de leur parcours. Les attractions sont élaborées grâce à de puissants logiciels et un travail de ferronnerie extrêmement minutieux s’impose pour assembler une structure conçue pour résister plus de 30 ans, sans entretien ni réparation.
Après avoir excité nos peurs, joué avec notre oreille interne et catapulté notre adrénaline, l’objectif des constructeurs du XXIème siècle est d’atteindre plus encore notre cerveau grâce à l’image et à la réalité virtuelle…

A l’aide d’interviews d’ingénieurs, historiens et techniciens, le film révèle les techniques mises en œuvre pour aller toujours plus haut et leurs effets sur l’organisme. Mais les progrès technologiques étant sans limite, le corps humain est-il prêt, lui, à tout supporter ?


Précédent   ||   Suivant

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54