LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaries // Art, Culture & Music

ALBERT SAUTEUR, A SELF-PORTRAIT


9'52''
2018


VERSION(S)
French, english, M&E

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCER(S)
THE Prod

DIRECTOR
François Catonné

This film tells the story of a pictorial adventure. From October 2011 to May 2012, Albert Sauteur painted a self-portrait in 107 sessions. 107 sessions in which a camera framing the painting, placed behind the painter's head and connected to a computer, recorded every dab of paint. 21935 pictures of every stage of the painting, creating an animated painting. It’s this performance that’s related in this 9-minute film.

Albert Sauteur is a Swiss painter who lives and works near Friborg. He is the inventor of the binocular perspective, a method of drawing in which, instead of the painter closing an eye to give his drawing a single vanishing point, keeps both eyes open, so that parts of the drawing have different vanishing points.
His work consists almost entirely of still lives of very small dimensions, often less than 20cm in size, which show two objects.

This documentary is part of a collection of portraits of painters devised and directed by François Catonné (DOP on more than sixty films: Régis Wargnier, Bertrand Blier, Robert Enrico, Gerard Mordillat...). The idea is to show the painter at work: all the action takes place in the artist’s studio, in which they are the only people to be seen and heard.


Previous   ||   Next

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54

LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaires // Art, Culture & Musique

ALBERT SAUTEUR, UN AUTOPORTRAIT


9'52''
2018


VERSION(S)
Française, anglaise, M&E

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCTEUR(S)
THE Prod

REALISATEUR
François Catonné

Ce film raconte l’histoire d’une aventure picturale. D’octobre 2011 à mai 2012, Albert Sauteur a peint un autoportrait en 107 séances de travail, 107 séances de prise de vue d’un appareil photo cadrant le tableau, placé derrière la tête du peintre, et relié à un ordinateur qui enregistre chaque touche de peinture. 21935 images de l’état du tableau pour constituer une peinture animée. C’est cette performance et son déroulement que raconte ce film de 9 minutes.

Albert Sauteur est un peintre Suisse qui vit et travaille près de Fribourg. Il est l’inventeur de la perspective binoculaire, une méthode de dessin qui au lieu que le peintre ferme un œil pour appliquer un seul point de fuite à son dessin, garde les deux yeux ouvert afin que certaines parties du dessin aient des points de fuite différents.
Il peint presque uniquement des natures mortes de très petites dimensions, souvent moins de 20 cm, qui représentent deux objets.
Ce documentaire fait partie d’une collection de portraits de peintres imaginée et réalisée par François Catonné (directeur de la photographie sur plus d’une soixantaine de films : Régis Wargnier, Bertrand Blier, Robert Enrico, Gérard Mordillat…). Le principe est de montrer le peintre au travail : toute l’action se déroule uniquement dans l’atelier de l’artiste où il est le seul à apparaître et à s’exprimer.


Précédent   ||   Suivant

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54