LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaries // Art, Culture & Music

MASTERS OF ART: MARRYING STONES AND LIGHT


13'
2019


VERSION(S)
French, english, M&E

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCER(S)
Home & Images

DIRECTOR
Aurine Crémieu

They are rare professions of which we know almost nothing. Yet, they nourish French creativity…
Episode dedicated to à Hervé Obligi, lapidary sculptor.

Hervé first dreamed of being a cabinetmaker, but what he carves is much harder than wood. He is a lapidary sculptor; his palette is composed of lapis lazuli, opal, mother-of-pearl, fine marbles, green jasper.
"I wanted a material that fights back," he says with a twinkle in his eye, although the stones he uses soon surrender to his will. Whether it’s a table from the Château de Versailles, a Renaissance dresser or a contemporary pen, he’s interested in everything.
And his curiosity is contagious. For several years, he has been passing on his skill and passion to Camille Berthaux, whom he first took under his wing as an apprentice and who became his "official" student two years ago. Camille is so absorbed by the craft that, in addition to his work in the studio, he takes classes in gemology to broaden his knowledge.
As both a restorer and a creator of objects, Hervé Obligi is one of only a small number of people do be doing lapidary work in France today, and therefore all the more precious as a Maître d’art.
What fascinates both men is drawing, sanding, chiselling and creating new objects, which combine ordinary and more precious stones.
They draw their inspiration from the street: its sewer plates, graffiti and asphalt, and the marks left by millions of footsteps... every day. A mineral world that we no longer notice, which nonetheless shapes our imagination.
What fascinates both men is drawing, sanding, chiselling and creating new objects, which combine ordinary and more precious stones.
They draw their inspiration from the street: its sewer plates, graffiti and asphalt, and the marks left by millions of footsteps... every day. A mineral world that we no longer notice, which nonetheless shapes our imagination.


Previous   ||   Next

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54

LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaires // Art, Culture & Musique

MAÎTRES D’ART : MARIER LES PIERRES ET LA LUMIèRE


13'
2019


VERSION(S)
Française, anglaise, M&E

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCTEUR(S)
Home & Images

REALISATEUR
Aurine Crémieu

Il est des métiers rares dont nous ne savons presque rien. Pourtant, ils irriguent la création française…
Episode consacré à Hervé Obligi, sculpteur lapidaire.

Hervé se rêvait d’abord ébéniste, mais ce qu’il sculpte est beaucoup plus dur que le bois. Il est sculpteur lapidaire ; sa palette est faite de lapis-lazuli, d’opale, de nacre, de marbres fins, de jaspe vert.
« J’avais envie d’un matériau qui me résiste » clame-t-il, l’œil malicieux. Et de fait, les pierres ne lui résistent pas bien longtemps. Qu’il s’agisse d’une table du château de Versailles, d’une commode Renaissance ou d’un stylo contemporain, tout l’intéresse.
Et cette curiosité est contagieuse. Depuis plusieurs années, il la transmet à Camille Berthaux, qu’il a d’abord pris sous son aile comme apprenti et qui est devenu son élève « officiel » depuis deux ans. Camille s’est tellement pris au jeu qu’il suit, en plus de son travail à l’atelier, des cours de gemmologie pour enrichir ses connaissances.
Aussi bien restaurateur que créateur d’objets inédits, Hervé Obligi est un maître d’art d’autant plus précieux qu’ils ne sont plus très nombreux en France à détenir ce savoir-faire.
Ce qui passionne les deux hommes désormais, c’est la création. Dessiner, poncer, ciseler des objets, qui mêlent pierres ordinaires et pierres plus précieuses.
La rue est devenue leur terrain d’inspiration : ses plaques d’égouts, ses graffitis, son bitume, les traces laissées par ces millions de pas… tous les jours. Tout un monde minéral qu’on ne regarde plus et qui pourtant façonne notre imaginaire.


Précédent   ||   Suivant

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54