LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaries // Sport & extreme sports

ROUGH DIAMOND


52'
2019


VERSION(S)
French, M&E

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCER(S)
Puzzle Media

DIRECTOR
Frank Dalmat

A man has a dream. To climb Diamond Rock, the unspoilt jewel of the islets surrounding Martinique. But the adventure is difficult from all points of view: public access to the rock is prohibited and the sportsman is physically disabled. And yet this challenge is highly symbolic for a local boy, torn from his island at the age of four. This film tells his story.


Once upon a time on a small island in the Caribbean, there were two strange forces of nature: a child and a rock. Two parallel destinies, both resulting from a trauma.

Philippe Ribière was born here 42 years ago with Rubinstein-Taybi syndrome, a genetic disorder that causes a deformation of the hands and feet. His biological parents abandoned him at birth.

Diamond Rock is a remnant of the strong volcanic activity that shifted and restructured this region almost a million years ago. From this geological disaster sprang a magnificent basalt rock 175 meters high.

After 4 years in an orphanage, punctuated by surgical operations that allowed him to recover some of his mobility, the child was adopted and left Martinique for the metropolis, where he spent a chaotic childhood, haunted by mockery and rejection.

For a long time, the rock, covered in undergrowth and cacti and almost inaccessible, was largely unused, serving no real purpose until the beginning of the 19th century, during the Napoleonic wars.

As a teenager, the child was rejected again when he tried to join a cycling club. It was then that he discovered climbing, an activity that finally enabled him to overcome his handicap. He began to compete, and created Paraclimbing in 2003, setting an example for all those who suffer, like him. His difference became his strength, and he won the bronze medal at the world championships in 2011.

Because of its unique and unforgettable geology, today the rock is a symbol and the pride of Martinique. It is the flagship of a string of satellite islets with their own ecological characteristics, enjoying even more sunshine than the main island. Never inhabited by humans, the Diamond is an exceptionally bio-diverse wildlife sanctuary.

Now, these two solitary rocks come face to face in a unique adventure. But for Philippe Ribière, this return to the land of his birth will also reveal some parallel and unexpected paths.


Previous   ||   Next

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54

LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaires // Sport & sports extrêmes

DIAMANT BRUT


52'
2019


VERSION(S)
Française, M&E

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCTEUR(S)
Puzzle Media

REALISATEUR
Frank Dalmat

Un homme a un rêve. Gravir à la force des doigts le Rocher du Diamant, joyau préservé de l’ile de la Martinique. Mais l’aventure est difficile à tous points de vue : le rocher est interdit d’accès au public, le sportif est handicapé. Et pourtant ce défi est hautement symbolique, pour cet enfant du pays qui a été arraché à son ile à l’âge de 4 ans. Ce film raconte son histoire.


Il était une fois sur une petite ile des caraïbes, deux étranges forces de la nature :
un enfant et un rocher. Deux destins parallèles, tous deux issus d’un traumatisme.

Philippe Ribière est né ici il y a 42 ans. Syndrome Rubinstein – Taybi, une malformation congénitale, déformant notamment ses mains et ses pieds. Ses parents biologiques l’abandonnent dès la naissance.

Le Rocher du Diamant est lui le vestige d’une forte activité volcanique qui a disloqué et recomposé cette région il y a près d’un million d’années. De ce désastre géologique, est né ce magnifique roc basaltique de 175 mètres de haut.

Après 4 années passées dans un orphelinat, rythmées par les opérations chirurgicales qui lui permettent de récupérer un peu de sa mobilité, l’enfant est adopté et quitte la Martinique pour la métropole. Une enfance chaotique, hantées par les moqueries et le rejet.

Le rocher est lui resté longtemps inutile, couvert de buissons et de cactées, difficilement accessible. Il ne trouve de véritable rôle qu’au début du 19ème siècle, lors des guerres napoléoniennes.

A l’adolescence, l’enfant est de nouveau rejeté alors qu’il veut intégrer un club de vélo. C’est alors qu’il découvre l’escalade, activité qui lui permet enfin de surmonter son handicap. Il commence la compétition, et crée le handi-grimpe en 2003, montrant l’exemple à tous ceux qui souffrent, comme lui. Sa différence devient une force. Il décroche la médaille de bronze au championnat du monde en 2011.

Du fait de sa particularité géologique, qui marque les esprits, le rocher est lui aussi aujourd’hui un symbole. Il fait la fierté de la Martinique. C’est le vaisseau amiral de tout un chapelet d’ilets satellites autour de la Martinique. Des ilets qui possèdent leurs propres caractéristiques écologiques, bénéficiant même d’un ensoleillement supérieur à l’ile mère. Jamais occupé par l’homme, le Diamant est un sanctuaire doté d’une biodiversité exceptionnelle.

Ces deux rocs solitaires pourraient à présent se confronter. Une aventure unique qui ferait de Philippe Ribière, le premier enfant du rocher. Mais ce retour au pays natal va lui faire découvrir des voies parallèles et inattendues…


Précédent   ||   Suivant

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54