LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaries // Travel, nature & discovery

ONE WEEK IN PARAJURU


52'
2008


VERSION(S)
French and International

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCER(S)
Jour J Productions

DIRECTOR
Josť Huerta

Parajuru is a fishing village located on the north-east coast of Brazil. For three years, a wealthy Austrian, Giselle, has been investing there for developing tourism: buying lands, building houses and a luxury hotel... Gisi, as she is called there, acts in the economic field but also carries out social projects. She has created a school for the children of the village and runs German and English courses. Some young people have even been sent to Austria for internships programmes.

Parajuru is living more and more under Austrian influence. Therefore, some of the locals start to bring into question the intentions of this woman who buys everything in the village, without ever communicating with its people.

Chico Mariano, the president of the fishermen association, has a perspective on the issue. Even if he is not against Gisiís projects, he knows that an uncontrolled development of tourism can gradually compromise the villagers as a unity. He also knows that the nearby nature reserve caught the attention of Gisi and other property speculators. He sets himself a mission: to defend the interests of the community.

This film presents the portrait of a village undergoing a considerable transformation, torn between the desire for economic development and the wish for preserving its traditional lifestyle.


Previous   ||   Next

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54

LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaires // Voyage, nature et découverte

UNE SEMAINE à PARAJURU


52'
2008


VERSION(S)
Française et Internationale

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCTEUR(S)
Jour J Productions

REALISATEUR
José Huerta

Parajuru est un village de pêcheurs situé sur la côte du Nord-est du Brésil. Depuis trois ans, une Autrichienne fortunée, Giselle, y investit pour le développement du tourisme. Achat de terrains, constructions de maisons, hôtel de luxe... Gisi, comme on la nomme ici, occupe donc le terrain économique mais également le terrain social. Elle a déjà construit une école pour les enfants du village, organise des cours d’allemand et d’anglais. Certains jeunes effectuent même des stages en Autriche et des mariages mixtes commencent à se former.
Parajuru vit donc de plus en plus à l’heure de l’Autriche et une partie de la population du village s’interroge sur les intentions de cette femme qui achète tout, sans jamais communiquer avec ses habitants.
Chico Mariano, le président des pêcheurs, a un point de vue sur la question. S’il n’a rien contre les projets de Gisi, il sait que le développement d’un tourisme non maîtrisé peut détruire peu à peu la cohésion du village en introduisant deux fléaux majeurs : la drogue et le tourisme sexuel. Il sait également que la réserve naturelle toute proche du village attise la convoitise de Gisi et même d’autres spéculateurs. Il s’est donné une mission : celle de défendre les intérêts de la communauté.
Ce film dresse le portrait de ce village en pleine mutation, tiraillé entre le désir d’un développement économique et la préservation de son mode de vie.


Précédent   ||   Suivant

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54