LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaries // Cinema

THE WORK OF THE POSTER ARTIST: SIGNED LANDI


52'
2010


VERSION(S)
French, English and International

SUPPORT(S)
SD

PRODUCER(S)
Symphonia Films

DIRECTOR
Jean Pierre Mattei

The poster as an object was born at the same time as the cinema, and as the cinema became an industry, producers and distributors appropriated it and placed it under their control.
Providing us with our first view of a film, the poster advertises it outside a theatre and tries, with varying degrees of skill, to lure the audience inside. The poster artist’s main talent is to succeed in reaching the largest number of people whilst maintaining a certain level of artistic quality, the ideal being to create a piece of art while effectively promoting the film concerned.
In 1985, the first César award for a poster was given to Michel Landi for the film Harem. But how did Landi get where he is today? Memories abound, each one a short film in its own right!
Amongst the movies that allowed him to break into the world of posters, some titles, such as “Once Upon A Time In The West”, “Duel” and “A Very Curous Girl” stand out above the rest. Like all artists, Michel Landi’s work has gone through many phases, encompassing Westerns, horror films, soft porn and opera, in keeping with public demand and, above all, that of the production companies. John Wayne, Brian de Palma, Walerian Borowczyk, Losey and Bergman have all contributed to giving him an impressive visiting card. He is known and recognized outside France. The poster for Elia Kazan’s film Dernier Nabab was distributed throughout Europe. The last James Bond film starring Sean Connery, Never Say Never Again, was distributed internationally.
Actors including Daniel Auteuil, Marie José Nat and Alain Delon, directors such as Robert Hossein, Claude Lelouch and Nelly Kaplan, producers such as Alain Sarde, his family and colleagues join together in this account to paint a portrait of an unobtrusive man who, like Jean Luc Godard, is famous amongst the industry professionals and anonymous at the same time! From the shadows to our spotlight.


Previous   ||   Next

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54

LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaires // Cinéma

PROFESSION AFFICHISTE : SIGNE LANDI


52'
2010


VERSION(S)
Française, Anglaise et Internationale

SUPPORT(S)
SD

PRODUCTEUR(S)
Symphonia Films

REALISATEUR
Jean Pierre Mattei

L’affiche en tant qu’objet est née en même temps que le cinéma et le cinéma devenant une industrie, les producteurs et les distributeurs se la sont appropriée et l’ont contrôlée. Première image du film, elle en est le support à l’extérieur des salles et tente habilement ou maladroitement d’attirer les spectateurs à l’intérieur. Le talent premier de l’affichiste sera de savoir toucher le plus grand nombre tout en préservant une certaine qualité artistique. Le rêve étant de satisfaire l’art et de répondre à l’efficacité publicitaire.
En 1985, le premier César de l’affiche fut décerné à Michel Landi pour le film Harem. Mais quel parcours Landi a-t-il suivi pour en arriver là ? Les souvenirs sont nombreux et chacun se présente comme une saynète.
Parmi les films qui lui ont permis de percer dans le domaine de l’affiche, certains titres se positionnent avec force. « Il était une fois dans l’Ouest », « Duel », « La Fiancée du pirate »…comme tout artiste Michel Landi a ses périodes qui se superposent avec la demande du public et surtout des producteurs : le western, l’horreur, le film érotique, le film opéra. John Wayne, Brian de Palma, Walerian Borowczyk , Losey et Bergman lui offrent une belle carte de visite. Il est connu et reconnu à l’étranger. L’affiche du Dernier Nabab d’Elia Kazan est distribuée dans toute l’Europe. Le dernier James Bond interprété par Sean Connery Jamais plus jamais aura une distribution internationale.
Les acteurs dont Daniel Auteuil, Marie José Nat, Alain Delon. Les réalisateurs dont Robert Hossein, Claude Lelouch, Nelly Kaplan. Les producteurs dont Alain Sarde. Sa famille, ses confrères dont Léo Kouper tissent dans ce récit un portrait d’un homme discret dont on peut dire comme Jean Luc Godard qu’il peut être célèbre chez les professionnels de la profession et anonyme!
De l’ombre à notre lumière.


Précédent   ||   Suivant

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54