LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaries // Politics & Economics

FIGHTING AGAINST LAKSHMI MITTAL


90'
2013


VERSION(S)
French and International

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCER(S)
Chasseur d’étoiles

DIRECTOR
Franck Vrignon


Anne Gintzburger

At the beginning of 2012, Lakshmi Mittal, the owner of the world’s largest steelmaking company, announced the closure of the last two steel factories in the Fensch Valley in Lorraine, France. For the employees, this news came as a declaration of war. Aware of the media opportunity provided by the presidential elections, they demanded specific commitments from the French government. At the head of a handful of steelworkers, Edouard Martin, the good-looking, straight-talking, charismatic leader of the CFDT union at Florange, became the spokesman for the Lorraine steelworks. The resistance and struggle of these workers punctuated the last months of Nicolas Sarkozy’s presidency and marked the beginning of François Hollande’s term of office.

The workers in Florange have brought the industrial crisis in France into the public arena. The men have become the embodiment as well as the depositary of the nation’s concerns about the decline of their factories. They are also the standard bearers of another reality: the powerlessness of the government against the interests of the economic world.
Looking back over the history of the steel industry in Lorraine and through the real stories and events of Florange, the film asks the questions embodied by these resistant workers: Why is the steel industry in crisis and how can it be saved? Can the promise of re-industrialisation be kept? Who decides the future of the industry and its workers today? How has France gone from being a major player in industrial policy to a powerless State? What role has the European Community played in this relinquishment? Can Politics regain power over Economics?


Previous   ||   Next

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54

LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaires // Politique & Economie

LA PROMESSE DE FLORANGE


90'
2013


VERSION(S)
Française et Internationale

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCTEUR(S)
Chasseur d’étoiles

REALISATEUR
Franck Vrignon


Anne Gintzburger

Début 2012, Lakshmi Mittal, propriétaire de la première entreprise sidérurgique mondiale, annonce la fermeture des deux derniers hauts fourneaux de la vallée de la Fensch en Lorraine. Pour les salariés, cette annonce sonne comme une déclaration de guerre et, conscients de la caisse de résonnance médiatique que constitue la période électorale, ils exigent des engagements précis de l'Etat français. A la tête d'une poignée de sidérurgistes, Edouard Martin, belle gueule et franc parler, leader charismatique des « Florange » devenu une icône des aciéries lorraines. La résistance et le combat de ces ouvriers rythment les derniers mois de la présidence de Nicolas Sarkozy et marquent le début de la présidence de François Hollande.

Au travers des « Florange », la crise de l'industrie hexagonale s'impose dans le débat public. Ces hommes en deviennent l'incarnation, de même que les dépositaires de l'inquiétude des Français face au déclin de leurs usines. Ils sont également les porte-drapeaux d'une autre réalité : l'impuissance du politique face aux intérêts du monde économique.
A partir des évènements de Florange, de cette histoire à hauteur d'hommes, et en revisitant l'histoire de la sidérurgie lorraine, le film posera toutes les questions qu'incarnent aujourd'hui ces ouvriers résistants : Pourquoi la sidérurgie est-elle en crise et comment en sortir ? La promesse de ré-industrialisation peut-elle être tenue ? Qui décide aujourd'hui de l'avenir de l'industrie et de ses salariés ? Comment est-on passé d'un Etat maître de la stratégie industrielle à un Etat impuissant ? Quel rôle a joué la communauté européenne dans ce dessaisissement ? Le Politique peut-il encore reprendre le pouvoir sur l'Economique ?


Précédent   ||   Suivant

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54