LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaries // Parenting

FOR THE CHILDREN OF CAMBODIA


29'
2012


VERSION(S)
French and International

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCER(S)
Durite Productions

DIRECTOR
Stéphane Cascino

This is the story of a love affair between a French couple, Sandra and Gilles, and a country, Cambodia. The pair gave up everything to devote their lives to helping Cambodian children. In this country, in which 30% of the population lives beneath the poverty line, children are the first to suffer, forced to work to help their parents and sometimes even sold to prostitution rings.
The plight of these children first came to Sandra’s attention in the 1990s when she was on an assignment for Médecins Sans Frontières. At the time, she didn’t see what she could do to help. It was a few years later that she and her husband, Gilles made their first gesture: unable to have children themselves, the couple went to Cambodia to adopt Clara, who was then 8 months old.
The process inspired them to do even more and Sandra and Gilles went on to create an association and a home for abandoned children in Cambodia. Today, forty-three children live together in the orphanage, which bears the name of their daughter Clara. Many of the children are indeed orphans, but others come from families too poor to look after them and are there on a temporary basis.
Sandra lives in the orphanage all year round with her daughter, Clara, who is now 10 and is fighting the battle alongside her parents. Clara sees the other children as her friends if not members of the family and is always ready to give the nurses a hand. Gilles lives in France. He continues to work as a doctor in Brétignoles-sur-Mer to support the family. He comes to Cambodia four times a year. Between teaching the children, monitoring their health, feeding them and maintaining the orphanage buildings, the couple rarely have a moment to themselves and have little time for family life. Their aim is simple: to save the children and help their families. Despite this, Gilles’ trips to Cambodia also allow him to spend precious moments with his daughter Clara.
In an attempt to help these children and their families as much as possible, Gilles and Sandra are constantly thinking up new ways to raise extra funds. One of their latest ideas is to organise cruises down the Mekong. They hope to attract a lot of tourists, who will help to finance their endeavours.
The Cambodian government has finally decided to reopen adoption to foreign families and the couple now have a new challenge: to find homes for these children, so that they grow and live “like other people”.


Previous   ||   Next

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54

LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaires // Relations parent-enfant

POUR LES ENFANTS DU CAMBODGE


29'
2012


VERSION(S)
Française et Internationale

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCTEUR(S)
Durite Productions

REALISATEUR
Stéphane Cascino

C’est l’histoire d’un coup de foudre entre un couple de Français, Sandra et Gilles et un pays le Cambodge. Ce couple a tout quitté pour consacrer sa vie à aider les enfants Cambodgiens. Dans ce pays où 30% de la population vit sous le seuil de pauvreté, les enfants sont les premières victimes : obligés de travailler pour aider leurs parents, voire vendus à des réseaux de prostitutions pour certains.
Ce constat Sandra l’a fait dans les années 90 alors qu’elle était en mission humanitaire pour Médecins dans frontières. A l’époque elle ne voyait pas comment les aider. C’est quelques années plus tard avec son mari Gilles, qu’ils vont faire leur premier geste envers ces enfants : ne pouvant pas avoir eux mêmes d’enfants, le couple adopte au Cambodge, la petite Clara qui a alors 8 mois.
De cette adoption va naître l’envie de faire plus. Sandra et Gilles décident de créer une association et un orphelinat pour recueillir les enfants abandonnées au Cambodge, mais pas seulement.... Dans cette maison qui porte le nom de leur fille, « La maison de Clara », 43 enfants vivent ensemble. Il y a évidemment des enfants abandonnés mais aussi des enfants confiés temporairement par leurs familles trop pauvres pour s’en occuper.
Sandra s’est donc installée ici avec Clara sa fille. Elles y vivent toute l’année. Aujourd’hui Clara a 10 ans. Le combat de ses parents, elle le porte elle aussi. Elle considère les pensionnaires comme des amies voire comme des membres de sa famille, et ne manque pas d’apporter son aide aux infirmiers par exemple. Gilles vit en France. Il continue son activité de médecin à Brétignoles sur mer, pour subvenir aux besoins du couple. Il vient 4 fois par an au Cambodge. Entre scolarisation des enfants, surveillance de leur état de santé, nutrition, réparation des installations de l’orphelinat, le couple n’a pas une minute à lui et très peu de place pour la vie de famille. Leur but est simple : sauver ces enfants, aider leurs familles. Malgré tout chaque séjour de Gilles au Cambodge lui permet aussi de profiter au maximum de Clara, sa fille.
Pour tenter d’aider au mieux ces enfants et leurs familles, Gilles et Sandra multiplient les projets destinés à apporter des fonds supplémentaires. Parmi les nouveautés, la mise en place de croisières sur le Mékong. Ils espèrent que les touristes viendront nombreux, ce qui permettra de financer d’avantage leurs actions.
Enfin le gouvernement cambodgien vient de rouvrir le processus d’adoption dans le pays. C’est le nouveau combat du couple. Parvenir à trouver des familles à ces enfants afin qu’ils puissent s’épanouir et « vivre comme les autres ».


Précédent   ||   Suivant

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54