LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaries // Parenting

ADOPTION: THE DAY I MET MY CHILD


85'
2013


VERSION(S)
French, English and International

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCER(S)
Durite Productions

DIRECTOR
Stéphane Cascino

The arrival of a child is a mini revolution: it turns a household upside down. Valérie, Thierry, Steve and Richere have always dreamed of being parents. For them, adoption is the only way to make the dream a reality. Whether on their own or in a couple, achieving their goal has involved endless red tape, interminable delays and considerable expense. For the adoptive parents and adopted children alike, it’s the start of a new life.
For several months, we followed them through the adoption process, sharing their highs and lows, their doubts, their setbacks and their ultimate joy at finally becoming mums and dads.
Forty-two year old Valérie doesn’t think that being single will stand in the way of her adopting a child. After years of waiting and mountains of paperwork, she’s about to receive a 10-year-old girl, Fabiola, from Colombia. They will spend 3 weeks on holiday together in the Marseille region, a trial period after which Fabiola will have to decide whether or not she wants to be adopted by Valérie. Coming from different cultures, how will they communicate? Will they be able to bond? What decision will Fabiola make?
Thierry, an engaging bachelor from Poitiers, is also preparing for a life-changing event: the arrival of 2 children aged 9 and 10! He will also be taking a 3-week trial holiday with them, before joining them in Columbia in a few months time to adopt them, if the children so desire. Will Thierry be able to handle 2 children? How will he return to his single life and endure the wait until they make up their minds? We spent 8 months with Thierry, sharing his tears and laughter and the many ups and downs of the adoption process.
Married for 5 years, Steve and Richere, a couple from Quebec, are still crazy about each other. But their fairytale existence has been marred by their inability to have children. Their love for one another will prove invaluable as they go through the trials of the adoption process in the Philippines, where 2-year-old Naethann is waiting for them. What will they find there? Returning to Québec they’ll learn how to be parents, while Naethann will have to adjust to his new environment. From orphan to little emperor: how will he cope with being uprooted?
An exceptional documentary examining the innermost thoughts and feelings of a group of men, women and children embarking on a whole new life.


Previous   ||   Next

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54

LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaires // Relations parent-enfant

ADOPTION : LE JOUR OU J’AI RENCONTRE MON ENFANT


85'
2013


VERSION(S)
Française, Anglais et Internationale

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCTEUR(S)
Durite Productions

REALISATEUR
Stéphane Cascino

L’arrivée d’un enfant est une petite révolution : elle bouleverse la vie d’un foyer. C’est ce que Valérie, Thierry, Steve et Richere ont toujours voulu vivre : devenir parents. Pour eux, seule l’adoption leur permettra d’assouvir leur désir d’enfant. Qu’ils vivent seuls ou en couple, ils ont du affronter de nombreux obstacles : procédure fastidieuse, délais interminable, budget conséquent. Jusqu’au jour où un enfant vient apporter de la vie dans leur maison. Pour les adoptants comme pour les adoptés, c’est une nouvelle vie qui commence.
Pendant plusieurs mois, nous avons partagé à leurs côtés tous les enjeux liés à l’adoption: les émotions fortes, les remises en question, les contretemps et le bonheur de devenir enfin papa et maman.
A 42 ans, Valérie pense que son célibat ne sera pas un frein à l’adoption. Après des années d’attente et de procédure, elle va accueillir une fillette de 10 ans, Fabiola, venue de Colombie. Elles vont passer 3 semaines de vacances ensemble, dans la région de Marseille. Un séjour test au terme duquel Fabiola devra décider si elle veut être adoptée par Valérie ou pas. Issues de 2 cultures différentes, comment vont-elles communiquer ? Parviendront-elles à créer des liens ? Quelle décision Fabiola prendra-t-elle ?
A Poitiers, Thierry lui aussi est seul et s’apprête à vivre un grand bouleversement : l’arrivée de 2 enfants de 9 et 10 ans ! Lui aussi les accueillera 3 semaines pour des vacances test, avant de les retrouver en Colombie plusieurs mois plus tard, pour les adopter, si telle est la volonté des enfants. Thierry parviendra-t-il à gérer 2 enfants ? Comment va-t-il supporter l’attente de la décision des enfants et le retour à la vie d’homme seul ? A ses côtés, pendant plus de 8 mois, nous avons partagé les multiples rebondissements de la procédure, les rires et les larmes de cet homme attachant.
Mariés depuis 5 ans, Steve et Richere, un couple Québécois, s’aiment encore comme au premier jour. Mais leur conte de fées a été assombri par l’impossibilité d’enfanter. La force de leur relation va s’avérer essentielle pour traverser les épreuves de l’adoption, aux Philippines, où Naethann, 2 ans, les attend. Que vont-ils découvrir sur place ? De retour au Québec, ils apprendront à devenir parents, tandis que Naethann, devra prendre de nouveaux repères. De l’orphelinat à la vie d’enfant roi, comment va-t-il vivre son déracinement ?
Un documentaire exceptionnel dans l’intimité de ces hommes, de ces femmes et de ces enfants, qui vont démarrer une toute nouvelle vie.


Précédent   ||   Suivant

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54