LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaries // Travel, nature & discovery

MADAGASCAR OTHERWISE : A TRAIN GREATLY EXPECTED


26'
2006


VERSION(S)
French, International

SUPPORT(S)
SD

PRODUCER(S)
Kanari Films

DIRECTOR
Capucine Lafait Hémard

The « East Coast Fianarantsoa » (ECF), is 163 km of railway between Fianarantsoa, capital of Betsileo and Manakara costal city of Madagascar. Composed of 67 bridges and 48 tunnels, ECF is one of the most abrupt railways in the world. It goes though one of the most beautiful landscape of Madagascar.
Five times a week, the small train starts its journey at 7AM from the high lands down to the sea. His speed varies between 20 and 35 km/hr. The trip should last 12 hours normally but it is not rare that it last much more. We can never predict…
Getting on board this train leads you to discover the amazing commercial activities of the 17 train stations… It also exposes the passenger to the reminiscence of an old story: the construction of this railway required 10 years of effort under a colonial administration …


Previous   ||   Next

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54

LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaires // Voyage, nature et découverte

MADAGASCAR AUTREMENT : UN TRAIN TANT ATTENDU


26'
2006


VERSION(S)
Française, Internationale

SUPPORT(S)
SD

PRODUCTEUR(S)
Kanari Films

REALISATEUR
Capucine Lafait Hémard

La « Fianarantsoa Côte Est », c’est 163 kms de voie ferrée reliant Fianarantsoa, capitale des Betsileo à Manakara ville côtière de Madagascar. Jalonnée de 67 ponts et 48 tunnels, la FCE est l’un des chemins de fer les plus raides du monde et traverse l’un des plus beaux paysages de Madagascar.
Cinq fois par semaine, le petit train entame à 7h du matin sa descente des hauts plateaux jusqu’à la mer. La vitesse de croisière oscille entre 20 et 35 km/h. Le voyage dure normalement 12h mais souvent beaucoup plus. On ne peut jamais savoir…
Embarquer à bord du train, c’est être le témoin de toute l’incroyable vie commerciale qui anime les 17 gares à chaque arrêt… Mais c’est aussi s’exposer à la réminiscence d’une vieille histoire : ce chemin de fer a nécessité 10 années de construction en pleine administration coloniale…


Précédent   ||   Suivant

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54