LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaries // History

THE DEVILíS CHILD


52'
2015


VERSION(S)
french and International

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCER(S)
Kanari Films

DIRECTOR
Ursula Wernly Fergui

December 1989. The Ceausescu regime collapses. The world discovers the horrible extent of this dictatorship, especially images showing hundreds of thousands of children confined and abused in orphanages. Marion is one of these orphans, a devilís child, as she calls herself. A French couple adopted her when she was 6 years old. Today, at the age of 37, she has just given birth to her first child; this event brings her back to her own past, when she was abandoned the day she was born.

From 1966 to 1989, Nicolae Ceausescuís Romania led a violent policy to support a rising birth rate. The tyrantís purpose was to double the population and to establish the state authority on families. Prohibition of abortion, contraception outlawed before the fourth child, tax on couples without children... Immediate effect and a slogan which will be engraved forever in Romanian collective memory: Make babies, the government will take care of them. For years, the dictatorís voice and face were everywhere: he was the Nationís father. The only father figure for thousands of children abandoned by poor families. More than 100,000 children went through the orphanage of the dictatorship. Thus, Romania became sadly famous for its orphanages, also known as casa de copii (childrenís homes). 25 years later, Romania still struggles to heal its wounds.

Marion wants to retrace her past, along with Elisabeth Blanchet who has photographed Ceausescuís orphans. We will follow her in her quest, in a road movie across Romania, as the country prepares to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the dictatorís fall.


Previous   ||   Next

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54

LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaires // Histoire

L’ENFANT DU DIABLE


52'
2015


VERSION(S)
Française et Internationale

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCTEUR(S)
Kanari Films

REALISATEUR
Ursula Wernly Fergui

Décembre 1989. Le régime de Ceausescu s’effondre. Le monde découvre, stupéfait, l’étendue de la dictature. Parmi les images qui heurtent les consciences, les centaines de milliers d’enfants enfermés et maltraités dans les orphelinats. Marion est l’une de ces orphelines, une enfant du diable, comme elle le dit elle-même, adoptée par un couple français à l’âge de 6 ans. A 37 ans, elle vient de mettre au monde son premier enfant ; un moment clé qui la renvoie à sa propre histoire, elle qui fut abandonnée le jour de sa naissance.

Entre 1966 et 1989, la Roumanie de Nicolae Ceausescu mène une politique ultra-nataliste d’une violence inouïe. Il s'agissait, dans l'esprit du tyran communiste, de doubler la population de la Roumanie et d'asseoir la primauté de l'État sur la famille. Interdiction de l’avortement, contraception proscrite avant le quatrième enfant, taxation des couples sans enfants... Les effets sont immédiats et un slogan restera à jamais gravé dans la mémoire collective des Roumains : « Faites des enfants, l’État s’en occupera ». Pendant des années, la voix et le visage du dictateur étaient partout : le père de la Nation. Un seul père pour des milliers d’enfants abandonnés par des familles démunies. En 1970, le Parlement roumain vote une loi instituant l'abandon d'enfants en politique nationale. Et ce sont plus de 100 000 gamins qui sont passés par les orphelinats de la dictature. La Roumanie est ainsi devenue tristement célèbre pour ses orphelinats, les casa de copii (maisons d'enfants).25 ans plus tard, le pays peine toujours à cicatriser les blessures.

Avec la photographe Élisabeth Blanchet, auteure d’un travail sur les orphelins de Ceausescu, Marion veut retourner sur les traces de son passé. Nous la suivons dans sa quête, au cours d’un road-movie à travers la Roumanie, alors que le pays s’apprête à célébrer en 2014 le 25ème anniversaire de la chute du dictateur.


Précédent   ||   Suivant

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54