LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaries // Current affairs

CHINESE PROPAGANDA LESSON IN FORBIDDEN TERRITORY


52'
2014


VERSION(S)
French, English & International

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCER(S)
EGO Productions

DIRECTOR
Eric Darbré & Axel Royer

An authoritarian People’s Republic or a real dictatorship? In less than a generation, China has become the economic engine of the planet. But what if this economic power, which seems to take precedence over political and social power, was in the hands of a dictatorship whose single aim was to expand its power in order to continue existing? This documentary proposes to reveal the real face of China and to get inside the propaganda machine.

For the first time, a French director-journalist will join an official trip to the heart of one of the most secret regions in China: Xinjiang. Unstable and by far the most volatile province in the country, it’s a unique opportunity to visit an area that’s normally out of bounds to tourists.

Located in the far northwest of the People’s Republic, on the borders of central Asia, Xinjiang is the scene of frequent clashes between the Chinese authorities and the Uyghurs, Turkish-speaking Muslims who, like their Tibetan neighbours, reject the colonisation of their territory.

Going beyond the Uyghur problem (which gets less media coverage than the unrest in neighbouring Tibet) the aim of this documentary is to decipher the propaganda that is currently being put out by the Chinese, who are trying to convince the world, and Chinese tour operators in particular, that the region is a haven of peace, a heaven on earth suitable for mass tourism.

Thanks to reliable contacts amongst the organisers of this “Chinese tour” and the help of diasporas based in Europe and Central Asia, and thanks also to accounts given here for the first time by Turkish-speaking Muslims and footage of the most recent revolts, we’ll be able to draw a parallel between a slick, consensual tour and the distress of an entire race.

To get a better understanding of the extent to which everything here is built on lies and propaganda, we shall show videos shot by the minorities themselves as well as their accounts. It’s the kind of footage we rarely get to see, showing a reality that China would prefer to keep hidden.


Previous   ||   Next

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54

LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaires // Current affairs

LEÇON DE PROPAGANDE CHINOISE EN ZÔNE INTERDITE


52'
2014


VERSION(S)
Française, Anglais et Internationale

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCTEUR(S)
EGO Productions

REALISATEUR
Eric Darbré & Axel Royer

Démocratie populaire autoritaire ou réelle dictature ? La Chine est devenue en moins d’une génération le moteur économique de la planète. Et si ce pouvoir économique, qui, semble-t-il, prime sur le politique et le sociétal, était entre les mains d’une dictature dont le seul but serait de développer sa puissance pour continuer d’exister ? Ce documentaire propose de dévoiler le visage réel de la Chine et de vivre de l’intérieur la machine de propagande.

Pour la première fois un journaliste-réalisateur français s’est glissé dans un voyage officiel au cœur d’une des régions les plus secrètes de tout le pays : le Xinjiang, une occasion unique de visiter une zone normalement interdite aux touristes car il s’agit de la province la plus instable du pays.

Située à l’extrême ouest de la Chine, aux frontières avec l’Asie centrale, le Xinjiang est régulièrement le théâtre d’attentats anti-chinois. Leurs auteurs sont des Ouïghours, des turcophones musulmans qui comme leurs voisins Tibétains, rejettent la colonisation chinoise de leur territoire.

Au-delà de la question ouïghoure (moins médiatisée que celle de leurs voisins tibétains) ce documentaire a pour ambition de décrypter la machine de propagande des autorités chinoises qui tente de convaincre le monde et notamment les tour-opérateurs chinois que la région est un havre de paix, un paradis sur terre propice à un tourisme de masse.

Grâce à de sérieux contacts au sein de l’organisation de ce « chinese tour » et à l’aide des diasporas basées en Europe et en Asie centrale, grâce aux témoignages inédits de ces turcophones musulmans et aux images des dernières révoltes, nous mettrons en parallèle un voyage lisse, consensuel ET la détresse d’un peuple.

Pour mieux comprendre à quel point tout ici n’est que mensonge et propagande, nous diffuserons des vidéos tournées par les minorités elles-mêmes ainsi que leurs témoignages. Autant de vidéos que nous n’avons pas l’habitude de voir et qui montrent une réalité que la Chine souhaite cacher.


Précédent   ||   Suivant

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54