LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaries // Travel, nature & discovery

TAKANAKUY, HAND-TO-HAND AGAINST THE WORLD


52'
2015


VERSION(S)
French and International

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCER(S)
PUZZLE MEDIA

DIRECTOR
Patrice Laidin

In a remote region of Peru, every December 25th, men, women and children fight to maintain their tradition.
In these isolated mountains in the heart of the Peruvian Andes, among the illuminated Christmas trees, cribs and figurines, a five hundred year old tradition is perpetuated to settle conflicts: here, as a gift, every Christmas, friends, neighbours, enemies and acquaintances deliberately dispense the blows they have been withholding during the year.

The Takanakuy is a sporting event, a court, a party and a tradition that unites the Chumbivilcanos around the Runa culture.
This complex culture combines symbols and stories from the Incas that condone violence and condemn the Spanish colonizers. The baby Jesus rubs shoulders with Pacha Mama and pre- and post-colonial roots mix in a way that’s rarely seen.
Fighting on December 25 ... to make peace. Competing to live together better and to strengthen the sense of community.

This way of seeing and living confrontation, peace and fighting can be shocking to Westerners. But does this violence, which we condemn, have hidden virtues?
On the morning of December 25th, everyone is ready: colourful masks, costumes… there’s tension and euphoria in the air as the fighters enter the ring. Spectators huddle in the stands watching the sparring without taking sides. No one really cares who wins or loses, if such a thing applies. When one of the two competitors gets the upper hand or after a few minutes, the referee stops the fight. The Abrazo puts an end to the bout and marks it down as a reconciliation.

A reflection on violence, living together and cultural identity.


Previous   ||   Next

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54

LUKARN LUKARN
Distribution    |   Production |   Contact    |   Recherche

Documentaires // Voyage, nature et découverte

TAKANAKUY, À MAINS NUES FACE AU MONDE


52'
2015


VERSION(S)
Française et Internationale

SUPPORT(S)
HD

PRODUCTEUR(S)
PUZZLE MEDIA

REALISATEUR
Patrice Laidin

Dans une région perdue du Pérou, chaque 25 décembre, hommes, femmes et enfants se battent pour conserver leur tradition.
Dans ces montagnes isolées en plein cœur des Andes péruviennes, au milieu des sapins illuminés, des crèches et des santons, se perpétue une tradition vieille de 5 siècles pour régler les conflits : ici, en guise de cadeau, chaque Noël, amis, voisins, ennemis ou simples connaissances se distribuent en toute conscience les coups retenus durant l’année...

Le Takanakuy est une rencontre sportive, un tribunal, un espace de fête, une tradition perpétuée qui réunit les Chumbivilcanos autour de la culture Runa.
Cette culture complexe réunit symboles et histoires de la culture Inca qui pardonne la violence, et du colonisateur espagnol qui la condamne. L’enfant Jésus côtoie la Pacha Mama et les racines pré et post coloniales se mélangent comme rarement.
Se battre le 25 décembre…pour faire la paix. S’affronter pour mieux se rassembler et renforcer son appartenance à la communauté.
Cette manière de voir et vivre l’affrontement, la paix, le face-à-face, peut être choquante pour des occidentaux. La violence qui pour nous est condamnable, aurait-elle des vertus cachées ?

Au matin du 25 décembre, tout le monde est prêt : masques colorés, costumes, entrée des combattants dans l’arène dans une atmosphère pleine de tension et d’euphorie. Les spectateurs entassés dans les tribunes regardent les joutes sans prendre parti ni pour les uns, ni pour les autres. De toute façon, peu importe qui sera le vainqueur ou le vaincu, si même d’ailleurs il y en a un. Lorsque l’un des deux concurrents prend le dessus, ou après quelques minutes, l’arbitre met fin à l’affrontement. L’Abrazo met un point final à cette rencontre et marque la réconciliation.

Une réflexion sur la violence, le vivre ensemble et l’identité culturelle


Précédent   ||   Suivant

LUKARN - 40, rue de Paris - 92100 Boulogne-Billancourt - FRANCE - +331 41 22 90 59 - Fax : +331 41 22 90 54